• Sale
  • Regular price $14.99


Format:  Compact Disc


Choral Union – Richard Nance, Director

This disc won the 2011 American Prize for outstanding recorded performance by a community chorus. Repertoire included on this two-disc collection includes Benjamin Britten’s The Company of Heaven; Gloria (from Missa Brevis) by Zoltan Kodaly; Veljo Tormis’ Autumn Landscapes; Morten Lauridsen’s Sure On This Shining Night; Bob Chilcott’s The Making of the Drum and Felix Mendelssohn’s Verleih’ uns Frieden. Established in 1984, this recording is in celebration of the Choral Union’s 25th Anniversary.


Compact Disc – 2010


PLU Multimedia Recordings — Pacific Lutheran University 


Program - Disc 1

Track Title Composer Length
The Company of Heaven Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
Part One:  Before the Creation
1 I. Chaos (Introduction for orchestra) 5:00
2 Speaker (Text by Theodosius) 1:00
3 II. The morning stars (Hymn for chorus and orchestra)   3:02
Part Two:  Angels in Scripture
4 Speaker (Text by Thomas Heywood) :35
5 IIIa. Jacob (Chorus and organ) :22
6 Speaker (Text from Genesis XXVIii 10-12, 16-17) :58
7 IIIb. Elisha (Chorus and organ) :24
8 Speaker (Text from 2 Kings VI 15-17) :52
9 IIIc. Hail Mary! (Soprano solo, chorus and organ) :42
10 Speaker (Text from Luke I 26-28, 21, 38) :52
11 IV. Christ, the fair glory (Hymn for soloists, chorus and orchestra) 2:37
12 Speaker (Text by Christina Rossetti) :43
13 V. War in heaven (Male chorus and orchestra) 3:25
Part Three:  Angels in Common Life and at our Death
14 VI. Heaven is here (Soprano solo, chorus and orchestra) 4:19
15 Speaker (Text by R. Ellis Roberts) :21
16 VII. A thousand thousand gleaming fires (Tenor solo and orchestra) 2:08
17 Speaker (Text by R. Ellis Roberts) 1:38
18 VIII. Funeral march for a boy (Orchestra) 3:44
19 Speaker (Text by Christina Rossetti) 1:07
20 IX. Whoso dwelleth under the defence of the most High 4:06
21 Speaker (Text by William Blake) :52
22 X. Lento maestoso (Speaker and orchestra) 2:10
23 XI. Ye watchers and ye holy ones (Hymn for soloists, chorus and orchestra) 5:16

Program - Disc 2


Track Title Composer Length
1 Gloria (from Missa brevis), Zoltan Kodály (1882-1967)
Chris McCafferty, Tenor  •  Jonathan Young, Organ
Conrad Susa (b. 1935)
Sügismaastikud (Autumn Landscapes) Veljo Tormis  (b. 1930)
2 I. On hilissuvi (It Is Late Summer) 1:53
3 II. Üle taeva joksevad pilved (Clouds Are Racing) 2:10
4 III. Kahvatu valgus (Pale Light) 1:25
5 IV. Valusalt punased lehed (Painfully Red Are The Leaves) :45
6 V. Tuul könnumaa kohal (Wind Over The Barrens) 1:23
7 VI. Külm sügisöö (Cold Autumn Night) 1:44
8 VII. Kanarbik (Heather) 1:48
9 Sure On This Shining Night (from “Nocturnes”) pub. Songs of Peer, LTD
Amy Grinsteiner, Piano
Morten Lauridsen (b. 1943) 5:55
The Making of the Drum
Miho Takanawa, Marimba
Bob Chilcott (b. 1955)
10 I. The Skin 2:24
11 II. The Barrel of the Drum 4:11
12 III. The Two Curved Sticks of the Drummer 3:37
13 IV. Gourds and Rattles 2:00
14 V. The Gong-Gong 3:35
15 Verleih’ uns Frieden  pub. EC Schirmer Music Co Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (1809-1847) 4:54